Chocolate Sorbet

3 Aug

Before I work this morning, I decided to try making a chocolate sorbet.  This is nothing like chocolate ice cream, so only try this if you like very dark chocolate.  I used the recipe straight from the Cuisinart booklet, but I halved it.  It turned out that the ice cream machine didn’t work so well with the halved recipe so I wrote up the original:

  • 3 cups water
  • 1 2/3 cups granulated sugar (this is what the recipe calls for, but I used only 1/2 a cup)
  • Pinch of Salt
  • 1 2/3 cups sifted cocoa powder
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1.  Combine water, sugar, and salt in a saucepan at low heat.  Stir often until the sugar is fully dissolved.

2.  Once sugar is dissolved, gradually add cocoa powder and vanilla, whisk until smooth.  Taste the mix and make sure it tastes to your liking

4.  Let the mixture cool in the fridge or freezer, depending on how long you want to wait

The spatula you see taped up there was my solution to not having enough liquid for the paddle to be effective

5.  When it’s cooled down turn on the ice cream maker and pour the chocolate base in for 15-20 minutes.  The sorbet should come out soft and creamy

So far this is one of the best things I’ve made with the ice cream maker, I’m a sucker for dark chocolate and we ate so much of it when it first came out that I didn’t get a chance to show the final product.

Leave a Reply

